• Become a Certified Bartender in 7 Days, Or It's Free.

    More on the lessons

California Bartending Certification

California Bartending Certification

California Bartender’s License
approved corafrd

Bakersfield, Fresno, Sacramento, Monterey, and Santa Cruz California Bartending Schools

The California Bartending Course is held once each month and this class fills up quickly! To learn more about starting dates and how you can enroll, please call, email or fill out the request information form today!

holding drink in hand

About our California 2-Day Bartending Course

Local Bartending Schools (NEBS) has been training greater California-area bartenders since 2010. Our first school opened in Bakersfield, followed by our downtown Vegas location, our Worcester location, and our Orlando, Florida location. Read What Harvard College Says About Us!

We now offer a two-day, 10-hour bartending course that is held at the Holiday Inn.

The cost of the complete course is only $149.00!
ca

California Bartending Certification Requirements

California has a state law regulating the legal age an individual needs to be to consume, sell, or serve alcoholic beverages and other regulations regarding the sale and service of alcoholic beverages. Within California, the legal age to consume alcoholic beverages is 21. There are regulations on what is required to become a bartender in California.

Contacts
The California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control
(916) 419-2500
http://www.abc.ca.gov

Bartending License regulations for sellers and servers in California
CA Dram Shop Laws: Yes
CA Happy Hour Laws: The State of California does not have state-wide Happy Hour Prohibitions. Such laws may exist in your city or county. Check with your local jurisdiction for any restrictions.

California state law requires all bars to close by 2:00 AM. (Some municipalities require an earlier closing.)

LBS of California Headquarters
431 Market St.
San Diego, CA 92101
877-447-4745

California Certification Online

Courses may be taken online. However, an in-person final exam will be followed by a proctor.

LBS certification is valid throughout California. California accepts our online certification. The control board does not require a proctored exam, which means you don’t have to sit in front of a person to take the test. The test will take about half an hour. Additional proctoring fees apply. These fees are not included in the cost of the course.

Screen Shot 2016-06-18 at 23.34.33

On-Premise and Off-Premise California Alcohol Beverage Control Cards (ABC) Offered Here

Kern County (Bakersfield), Santa Cruz County, Sacramento County, Placer County, and Monterey County (Monterey) require all servers to be trained, and require all servers have an Alcohol Education Card. Many non-serving positions will also require a card even if you are not serving alcohol. Just being in the same establishment can be enough of a reason to get a card. Training is optional in all other counties, but a proctor is required to get the hard plastic Alcohol Education card.

Our students sit at the bar and watch our qualified instructors prepare and explain each drink in front of them. Our students then spend the rest of their class making the drinks behind an actual bar under the close supervision of our instructors.

Not in Bakersfield, Fresno, Sacramento, Monterey, and Santa Cruz?
Our mobile instructors will drive to your home. Our teachers will bring all of the equipment to you. Full certification is available through our mobile bartending school.

GET STARTED